Driving Under The Influence
is a serious matter. Make sure you hire the "right
Driving Under The Influence (DUI) Arrest in Utah
Handling Utah Driving Under The Influence DUI Arrest charges in: Ogden, Logan, Brigham City, Salt Lake City,
Provo, Layton, Farmington, Bountiful, Sandy, Jordan and Draper, Utah.
Skilled & Experienced Utah DUI Criminal
|To preserve your right to drive in Utah, you must request a hearing within 10 days after your license has been taken from you by an officer or within the time set by Motor Vehicle in a revocation letter. A hearing must be initially scheduled within 45 days.
|What happens after a
Driving Under The Influence (DUI) Arrest in Utah?
For a Utah DUI arrest charge, which involve a great deal of science in addition to just knowledge of the basic governing laws, this experience may be the most critical thing.
And because of the complexity of a DUI arrest charge, knowledgeable attorneys consider them to be among the most difficult to defend. Because of this same complexity, a great many
defense attorneys make up to 10 big mistakes when it comes to defending DUI clients . . . mistakes which can profoundly harm their clients in terms of losing their license, paying considerable fines, being jailed, having huge increases in their insurance rates, and the effect it could have on their current or future job. And
for those reasons it is key to having an experienced and
knowledgeable DUI defense attorney by your side.
and Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney can protect your
Motor Vehicle Hearing:
To preserve your right to drive in Utah, you must request a hearing within 10 days after your license has been taken from you by an officer or within the time set by Motor Vehicle in a revocation letter. A hearing must be initially scheduled within
If you had a valid license when stopped, you are qualified for a temporary license to drive until the hearing. You will be mailed a notice of the hearing about three weeks after your request. You can plan on at least
30 days of driving.
If you lose at the hearing, you cannot drive after the hearing. It is our opinion you should requests the officer's presence at the hearing. Crucial defenses can be developed at the hearing. It is best to allow your attorney make the request.
Under The Influence (DUI) Arraignment:
This is the date you enter a plea usually set not less than five days and no more than 14 days after your arrest. If you have an attorney, the attorney can enter your plea for you and you do not have to appear. It is primarily for advisement of rights. If you have an attorney, he will advise you.
DUI Pre-trial Conference:
Your attorney will discuss your case with the District Attorney and negotiate the best possible plea bargain. It will happen about 6 weeks after arraignment. This is usually after the Motor Vehicle Hearing. The date is set by the Court and your attorney on his calendar.
Of Evidence Of A DUI Hearing:
The Court may suppress some or all of the evidence against you if your constitutional rights have been violated. Your attorney will file motions to suppress. It occurs anywhere 6 weeks to 3 months after the pre-trial conference.
Almost always a trial to a jury of four unless you are charged with a felony.
The Court imposes a sentence after a conviction at trial or after a plea bargain is accepted and a plea entered. Sentences may include jail time, in home detention, public service, alcohol classes and fines.
Skilled Defense Trial Attorney - Ogden, Utah
DUI Arrest / DUI Charge Utah Defense Lawyer
|Attorney and Counselor At Law
|863 E. 25th Street
Ogden, Utah 84401
of any material on this site without written permission is strictly prohibited.
© Copyright 2007-2008 Glen Neeley Attorney At Law. All Rights Reserved.